Maccabi in search of a 24th Cup

This will be the 84th State Cup Final since the competition was introduced.

Maccabi holds the Israeli record number as State Cup Winners (23) and another 13 times as finalists.

Hapoel Tel Aviv is ranked second with 16 victories in the Final as well as 8 defeats.

What is the record in Finals against Hapoel Tel Aviv?

The Tel Aviv derby between Maccabi and Hapoel was played 8 times in the State Cup Final – the most frequent meeting between any two sides.

Maccabi beat Hapoel in 5 Cup Finals (1933, 1941, 1967, 1988 and 1994).

Hapoel beat Maccabi in 3 Cup Finals (1934, 1938 and 1983).

Twenty Seven years have passed since the last Tel Aviv derby was played in the Cup Final (1994)

Itzik Zohar and Nir Klinger scored the goals that awarded Maccabi the Cup with a 2-0 victory. It was the only Cup Final victory between the sides that had a two goal margin.

The other seven Cup Final were closer and ended with a one-goal-margin and after 90 minutes

Maccabi faced Hapoel in the State Cup on 18 occasions, with Maccabi winning 13 ties and losing 5.

A second successive Final at Bloomfield

The State Cup Final was decided 14 times in a penalty shoot-out.

Maccabi reached spot kicks on four occasions winning three of the shoot-outs: Twice against Maccabi Haifa (1987 and 2002) and once against Maccabi Hertzliya (2005). Maccabi lost to Bnei Yehuda at the end of a penalty shoot-out in 2017.

This will be the second time in succession the Final is played at Bloomfield.

So far 12 Finals were played at the Jaffa stadium, Maccabi featured in four and won all Bnei Yehuda (1965), Hapoel Tel Aviv (1967), Maccabi Netanya (1970) and Hapoel Rishon Lezion (1996).