Just 13 seconds after the opening whistle at Sammy Ofer Stadium, Vidar Kjartansson found the back of the Haifa goal and everyone began to think if there had been a faster goal in Maccabi Tel Aviv history. The answer was a resounding – NO!

Watch what Vidar had to say following the match:

וידאר קיארטנסון לאחר הניצחון על מכבי חיפה

The Icelandic striker took over the top spot from Moshe Asis and now holds the record for the fastest goal breaking the 56-year old record that was set in 1962 when it took only 17 seconds for Asis to score in a 4:2 win over Hapoel Sderot in the State Cup.

Maor Bozaglo also scored after just 17 seconds when the Yellow & Blue defeated Beitar Jerusalem 3:0 back in 2010. Vicky Peretz and Giora Spiegel close out the top 5 as the pair scored 30 seconds after the opening whistle. The former did it in a crazy 4:4 draw against Bnei Yehuda in 1980 while the latter scored against Mysore State in the semifinals of the 1969 Asian Club Championship (6:1 in favor of Maccabi)

The next five fastest goals in Maccabi Tel Aviv history:
37 Seconds – Monas Dabbur against Hapoel Raanana, 2013 (3:1)
42 Seconds – Haim Goldberg against Beitar Jerusalem, 1985 (3:1)
42 Seconds – Guy Tzarfati against Tzafririm Holon, 1999 (3:1)
46 Seconds – Haim Tzabari against Hakoach Ramat Gan, 1983 (4:1)
47 Seconds – Nosa Igiebor against Maccabi Haifa, 2015 (2:1)