Maccabi Tel Aviv secured their 23rd league title this evening. The Yellow & Blue are still in the middle of an exceptional season one that has been dominant as Vladimir Ivic’s players continue to set new records.

The earliest championship
Due to Maccabi’s dominance in league play this season they have captured the earliest championship in league history. The Yellow & Blue took home the league title in March and bested the previous date of April 2, when Kiryat Shemona captured the 2011/12 championship.

Maccabi also secured the title 8 Matchdays until the end of the campaign which is the most remaining Matchdays after winning a championship. The previous record was 5 Matchdays – also when Kiryat Shemona won the title.

Record gap between first and second place
The current gap is 27 points between Maccabi and the second place team which is an all-time record, the previous high was Maccabi Haifa in 2004/05 – 18 points. The record at the end of the season is 16 points by the 2005/06 version of Maccabi Haifa and Maccabi Tel Aviv in 2013/14.

Maccabi joins Maccabi Haifa from 1993/94 and Bnei Yehuda from 1986/87 (their first loss was in Matchday 30) who have gone 28 Matchdays undefeated.

Only three teams in history have gone the full season without a defeat, Maccabi Tel Aviv from 1953/54 & 1957/58 (22 Matchdays in the season) and Maccabi Haifa from 1993/94 (39 Matchdays in the season).

Conceding the fewest goals
Maccabi has completed 28 Matchdays without conceding more than one goal in a match. Beitar Jerusalem from 1978/79 is the only team who have gone 28 Matchdays with giving up no more than one goal, until Matchday 30 when they conceded 4 goals. There has never been a team that has gone a full season without giving up more than one goal in a match.

Distance from Beer Sheva
The gap between the incoming and outgoing champion, Hapoel Beer Sheva is 27 points. The record at the end of a season is 32 points which occurred in 1986/87 – The incoming champion: Beitar Jerusalem, the outgoing: Hapoel Tel Aviv.

Tibi, Micha and Yeini’s accomplishment
Eitan Tibi won his 6th Israeli Championship (4 with Maccabi, one at Kiryat Shemona and Beitar Jerusalem). Only four Israeli footballers have more, Arik Benado and Alon Harazi 9 each, Yaniv Katan and Nir Davidovic with 7 a piece.

In addition to Tibi, Dor Micha and Sheran Yeini also have a pretty full trophy cabinet with 4 league titles, all with Maccabi.

Ivic’s historical stat
72 points – 85.7% success rate: The coach with the highest success rate in league history belongs to Vladimir Ivic of 270 coaches who have managed at least 10 matches.