Maccabi Tel Aviv continue to scale new heights and tonight set new a new record during the league fixture against Hapoel Kiryat Shmona when after ten minutes of play and Maccabi’s goalmouth still not breached, goalkeeper Daniel Tenenbaum surpassed 1,002 minutes without conceding a goal.

The mark had been held by Maccabi Haifa’s Giora Antman, who set the record in the 1988/89 season.

Tenenbaum has now played 11 consecutive matches this season without conceding a goal. He began his achievement in the penultimate game of last season when George Mandjik of Maccabi Haifa scored in the 87th minute for a 1-1 draw. In the following, final game last season Maccabi beat Hapoel Beersheba 4-0 and when adding the minutes played this season, the new record has been achieved. His clean sheet record now stands at 1,083 minutes.

Tenenbaum is the 50th goalkeeper to appear in Maccabi strip since Israel’s foundation in 1948 and has stood between the posts during the entire period of the record.

Among the defence, Eitan Tibi has played the entire 1003 minutes, or 13 matches, Jair Amador has played in 12 of the matches and Andre Geraldes has played in 11, as has Enric Saborit.

During the matches, opponents have shot at Maccabi’s goal 87 times but only 21 of those have been on target. Tenenbaum also saved one penalty in the period, Shlomi Azulai’s spot kick for Beitar Jerusalem in the fifth round of the season.

Maccabi’s goal difference now stands at 21-0, which equals the the achievement in the 1951-52 season when Maccabi scored 21 goals without reply in three and a half matches.

Hapoel Beersheba are the only club to have played Maccabi twice in the period, losing 4-0 last season and 2-0 in this campaign.

Next on the list of goalkeepers behind Tenenbaum and Antman to have kept a clean sheet over an extended period are: 953 minutes by Nir Davidovich (Maccabi Haifa) in 2009-10 and 928 minutes and 900 minutes respectively by Jozi Surinov (Beitar Jerusalem) in 1973-74 and  1971-72.